William C. Canby, Jr., American Indian Law in a Nutshell (6th ed. 2015).
Like other titles in West's Nutshell series, Canby's is a succint review of the topic, including chapters covering the history of federal Indian law and policy, tribal governments, treaties, jurisdiction, taxation, gaming, claims to land and water, and federal policy toward Alaska Natives.
Location: KF8205 .Z9 C36 2015 (Reserve Collection; older editions in Stacks)
American Indian Sovereignty and Law: An Annotated Bibliography (Wade Davies & Richmond L. Chow eds. 2009).
Location: KF8201.A1 A44 2009 (Reference Desk)
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law (Nell Jessup Newton ed., 2012 ed.) (1942 [i.e., 1941]).
The long-awaited revision—the previous edition appeared in 1982—of the 1942 landmark text. (The Foreword notes that the work originally appeared in 1940, but wasn't widely available until 1942.) Felix S. Cohen joined the Department of the Interior in 1933, where he became a principal drafter of the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934. Later, he compiled forty-six volumes of federal Indian laws and treaties, from which he synthesized his Handbook.
Location: KF8205.C64 2012 (Reserve Collection)
Conference of Western Attorneys General, American Indian Law Deskbook (Larry Long chair ed. comm. & Clay Smith chief ed., 4th ed. 2008).
A practical survey, presented from the perspective of state officials, of the history and current contours of federal American Indian law. Includes an extensive bibliography of books and law review articles. See the online table of contents for more information about the extent of coverage.
Location: KF8205 .A76 2008
H. Barry Holt & Gary Forrester, Digest of American Indian Law: Cases and Chronology (1990).
A topically arranged collection of case digests, each prepared much like a case brief. Includes a timeline of important events and cases from 1492 to 1989, tables of cases, index.
Location: KF8204.5 .H64
Stephen L. Pevar, The Rights of Indians and Tribes (4th ed. 2012).
Pevar writes for the non-lawyer among both Indians and non-Indians, but his traversal of a wide range of areas of federal Indian law—trust, treaties, jurisdiction, taxation, water rights, civil rights, and others—presented mostly in a question-and-answer format, can be of significant value to the student. Following introductory chapters devoted to the history of federal Indian policy and definitions of terms, he straightforwardly describes "what the law is." (Preface, 3d ed., xv.) Each chapter includes numerous endnote references to cases and statutes. Index.
Location: KF8210.C5 P48 2012
Gary A. Sokolow, Native Americans and the Law: A Dictionary (2000).
In his Preface, author Sokolow notes that "[b]ecause this book is concerned more with legal terminology than with the history or culture of Indian tribes, it is largely confined to a discussion of the most common terms used in the field of Indian law." (xiv.) Those terms include statutes, cases, government agencies, and doctrinal concepts. Entries are brief and straightforward. Some include cross-references to related entries. An introduction provides an overview of the history of American Indian law. Tables of cases and statutes, bibliography, index.
Location: KF8203.6 .S66 2000
Bryan H. Wildenthal, Native American Sovereignty on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents (2003).
A rudimentary overview of five controversies pertaining to Indian sovereignty--the Marshall trilogy, treaty rights, criminal and civil jurisdiction, and gambling--presented in terms of history and case law. The Documents section includes excerpts of cases and treaties. Includes a glossary of key concepts and people, chronology, table of cases and statutes, annotated bibliography, index.
Location: KF8205.Z9 W55 2003
... by
