These collections provide the complete text for most multilateral treaties and many bilateral treaties. No one collection is complete. To locate more treaty collections by IO, search for the website of the organization and look for treaties, instruments, or documents.
UN Treaty Collection
Access to both League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) and United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS).
HeinOnline, United Nations Law Collection (UCB only)
Select "United Nations Law Collection" to access to both League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) and United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS). Much easier access to treaties when you have a LNTS or UNTS citation. Includes entries from many treaty indexes.
HeinOnline, World Treaty Library (UCB only)
A large collection of bilateral (mostly US) and multilateral treaties
Oxford Historical Treaties (UCB only)
A comprehensive collection of treaties of all nations concluded from 1648 through 1919. Especially useful if you have a Consolidated Treaty Series (CTS) citation.
European Treaty Series (ETS) (Council of Europe)
Complete access to ETS as well as related information.
EUR-Lex, Treaties (European Union)
EU treaties, including founding documents and accession treaties.
NORMLEX (ILO)
Access to ILO international labour standards (treaties and agreements). Includes status and ratification information.
Organization of American States (OAS), Treaties and Agreements
OAS bilateral and multilateral treaties.
Flare Index to Treaties
Good for identifying electronic and print sources for multilateral treaties.
Frequently-Cited Treaties & Other International Instruments
Provides links to many multilateral treaties as well as usable citations.
Multilateral Treaty Calendar = Répertoire des Traités Multilatéraux, 1648-1995 (1989).
Comprehensive treaty index. Contains a thorough list of international organizations. Available on HeinOnline in the World Treaty Library (UCB only).
World Trade Organization, Legal Texts (WTO)
Agreement establishing the WTO and all of the annexes (SPS, TBT, GATS, etc.).
Multilateral and bilateral treaties are not always deposited with the UN. Sometimes they are deposited with other international organizations. The depositary is one of the places to look for updated status information and subsequent treaty actions (such as conferences of the parties). Remember, a treaty might be published in UNTS but deposited with another international organization or individual country.
Even when a treaty has been deposited with the UN, it is sometimes faster to locate relevant treaty information on a specialized website with more specialized information.
Below are just a few of the most frequently used online treaty collections.
E.U.
... by
