Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley School of Law Library UC Berkeley School of Law Library BerkeleyLaw Library

Refugee Law: Country Conditions/Country of Origin: International Orgs

"no title"

Many international organizations produce reports on the human rights conditions for various countries. Human rights activists and lawyers rely on these reports for asylum proceedings and when appearing before various treaty bodies and tribunals.

Effective Web Searching

Search for more reports and evidence of country conditions using Google or other search engine.

Different search engines will yield different results:

DuckDuckGo vs. Google

Consider using search terms in other languages

  • Different language versions of Google (under settings)

Consider using Google from the specific jurisdiction

Use advanced search engine options or filters

If you encounter a broken link or a document that is no longer available, try the Wayback Machine on the Internet Archive.  It doesn't always work, but it may provide an older version of the page or document and clues for finding a live page.

Internet Archive

International Organizations (IGOs & NGOs)

This alphabetical list is a combination of international organizations, both IGOs and NGOs.  Some sites include country information worldwide and some cover only specific regions or groups of countries.  For more information on human rights research and related organizations, see International Human Rights research guide.

African Union (AU)

  • African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, State Reports

Amnesty International
Country and topical reports.

Asylum Research Centre (ARC)
County and topic-specific reports.

Asylos' COI Research Database
Broad coverage. You must be a member to search, but the database entries provide enough information to search for the relevant document using a web search engine.

Asylum Information Database (AIDA)
A database containing information on asylum procedures, reception conditions and detention across 23 EU countries.

Austrian Centre for Country of Origin and Asylum Research and Documentation (ACCORD)

Centre for Civil and Political Rights (CCPR)

Center for Gender & Refugee Studies (CGRS) (UC Hastings)

Council of Europe (COE)
Focus is Europe

EDAL European Database of Asylum Law
Focuses on 22 European Countries, the database contains case law, documentation, legislation, Country Overviews, and supporting documents.

ECLAC, Gender Equality Observatory for Latin America and the Caribbean

European Country of Origin Information (ECOI)
Covers countries around the world. A good place for gathering reports from other organizations.

European Union, European Asylum Support Office
Covers countries around the world.

European Union for Georgia, Country of Origin Information Portal

Freedom House
Comparative assessment of political rights and civil liberties.

Human Rights First

Human Rights Watch
Reports by country and topic.

Insight Crime
Focus is on organized crime.

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (OAS)

  • Select "Reports" -- Country and Thematic reports.

Internal Displacement Monitoring Center

International Crisis Group
Information on conflicts around the world.

Migration Policy Institute (MPI), Country Resources

Minority Rights Group

Refugee Legal Aid Information for Lawyers 

Refugees International

ReliefWeb
Serves as a gateway to reports and documents from many sources.

Reporters without Borders
Covers the state of press freedom worldwide.

UN, High Commissioner for Human Rights

UN, High Commissioner for Refugees, Refworld

  • Select the "Country Information" tab for access to news, profiles, country reports, and maps.

UNICEF, Publications
Focus is on children.

WOLA, Advocacy for Human Rights in the Americas

Worldwide NGO Directory
Browse or search; can filter by country and topic. 

Search LawCat

... by

Ask Us