LibGuides: Refugee & Asylum Law: U.S. Immigration Law

Secondary Sources

T. Alexander Aleinikoff, David A. Martin & Hiroshi Motomura, Immigration and Citizenship Process and Policy (6th ed., St. Paul, Minn.: West Group, 2008).
Immigration Court Practice Manual (Executive Office for Immigration Review).
Available on Westlaw.
Regina Germain, Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure (6th ed., Washington, DC : American Immigration Lawyers Association, 2010).
- Also available on AILALink.
Ira Kurzban, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (Washington, DC: American Immigration Law Foundation, 1990-).
- Also available on AILALink.
David A. Martin, et al., Forced Migration: Law and Policy
Richard D. Steel, Steel on Immigration Law. Westlaw
- Type Steel on Immigration Law into search box and click on drop down link.
David S. Weissbrodt, Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell (6th ed., St. Paul, MN.: West Group, 2011).
Austin T. Fragomen et al., Immigration Law and Business (St. Paul, MN: West Group, 1983-).
Charles Gordon and Stanley Mailman, Immigration Law and Procedure (Rev. ed., New York, N.Y.: Bender, [1966]-).
- Available on Lexis. Type Immigration Law and Procedure into search box and click on drop down link.
Interpreter Releases (New York: Foreign Language Information Service, 1924-). Also available on Westlaw from January 1987 (INTERREL).
Immigration Law Service.
Available on Westlaw. Type Immigration Law Service into search and click on drop down link.
Fragomen Immigration Handbooks - Available on Westlaw.
Type Fragomen Immigration Handbooks into search box and click on drop down link.
Immigration Law and Defense (West, 2012-).
Available on Westlaw. Type Immigration Law and Defense into search and click on drop down link.
Ninth Circuit Immigration Outline (2020).

Researching US Immigration Law

Westlaw and Lexis have topical Immigration libraries.

Westlaw: Home > Practice Areas > Immigration
Includes cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, administrative decisions, secondary source, forms, and more.

Lexis: Home > Practice Area or Industry > Immigration
Cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, forms, more.

American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA)
One-stop immigration law research portal. Contains primary law as well as AILA practice publications.

Primary Law

Statutes

U.S. Code, Title 8. Current immigration and nationality law is primarily found in Title 8 of the U.S. Code.

Immigration and Nationality Act (U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services)

Statutes are available from the Immigration collections noted above on Westlaw and Lexis.

Regulations

Title 8, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and Federal Register (FR).

Administrative Decisions

Citizenship and Immigration Services

Homeland Security

Both Westlaw and Lexis have cases and administrative decisions in their Immigration collections noted above. Look for Administrative Decisions or Administrative Materials.

Administrative Decisions under Immigration & Nationality Laws (GPO, 1943-). Available on DOJ website.
Precedent (and indexed) AG/BIA decisions. Includes BIA Interim Decisions. Cited as "I&N Dec."

Attorney General and BIA Precedent Decisions (DOJ website).

Interpreter Releases. Available on Westlaw.

FOIA Reading Room. Collection of unpublished Board of Immigration Appeals decisions.

Immigrant & Refugee Appellate Center. Index / Collection of unpublished BIA decisions.

Refugee & Asylum Law: U.S. Immigration Law

Secondary Sources

Researching US Immigration Law

Search at the Law Library

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles

Ask Us

Library Hours

Fall 2024