Research guides point to books, databases, websites, and might help you better understand the legal system.
Topical and by country:
International Encyclopaedia of Laws (UCB only). Topics include civil procedure, commercial & economic law, constitutional law, contracts, corporations & partnerships, intellectual property, property & trust law, and more
Foreign Law Guide (UCB only). Search by jurisdiction or by subject "Laws by Subject." Provides information on the legal system, legal resources, and information about selected legislation by topic. See the following topics: aliens, citizenship and nationality, and immigration and emigration.
By specific country:
Globalex (select "foreign law")
Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research
By region:
Researching Latin American Law
Sources of Online Legal Information for African Countries
To locate more research guides for a particular jurisdiction or region, use a web search engine and do the following: [name of jurisdiction] legal research guide.
These and other databases are available from the database list on the library’s website.
|
Country / Topic |
Database (Use CalNet credentials) |
| China (People's Republic) |
Access to English language translations of laws, regulations, and cases from the People's Republic of China. Other legal news and information from China is available. The site is also available in Chinese.
|
| France | Dalloz.fr |
| Germany | Beck-Online (UCB only) German law database (in German only). |
| India | SCC Online Law of India. |
| Italy | DeJure (UCB only) Italian law database (in Italian only). |
| Multi-jurisdictional (Foreign Law's Westlaw/Lexis) | vLexJustis (UCB only) Access to primary materials (laws and cases) as well as secondary materials (articles and forms) for 95 countries). |
| UK |
ICLR (Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales) |
| Constitutions |
Constituciones Hispanoamericanas Oxford Constitutions of the World (UCB only). World Constitutions Illustrated (UCB only). |
| Foreign Court Databases | World Law Guide provides access to court websites. |