American Indian Law: Native American Studies Collection

The Native American Studies (NAS) Collection resides at the Ethnic Studies Library on the Berkeley campus. The Collection includes selective legal materials, and is strong in the areas of history, literature, language, and biography. Materials are in a variety of media and formats. The locations for the titles listed below refer to the Collection.

• Use UC Library Search to locate materials in the NAS Collection. Filter by Library | Ethnic Studies Library to limit your results to Ethnic Studies Library holdings.

Books and Periodicals

American Indian Ethnohistory Series (New York: Garland Publishing, 1974).

"In 1974, reports prepared by anthropologists and historians and submitted as evidence in claims brought by Indian groups against the United States Government under the provisions of the Indian Claims Act of 1946, together with findings and opinions of the Indian Claims Commission, were published in a series containing 118 volumes and more than 40,000 pages."

Bean, Lowell John & Sylvia B. Vane, Book Review, 31 Ethnohistory 239, 239 (1984) (reviewing American Indian Ethnohistory: California Indians I-VI (1974)), available at JSTOR (UCB only).
Locations: NAS E78.C15.C29 Calif.; NAS E99.M77 K76 1974; NAS E99.P2 P28; NAS E99.S4 M34; NAS E99.U8 U85 

American Indian Report, Falmouth Institute.
A monthly magazine reporting legal, cultural, health, political, and economic news and developments of interest to the Indian community.
Location: NAS SERIALS-1 (Circulation desk)

• The Law Library also subscribes. Location: KF8201.A3 A446.

Manual of Indian Gaming Law, Annotated (James Casey ed., rev. ed. 1999).
Two-volume loose-leaf published by the Falmouth Institute.
Location: NAS KF8210.C7.M36 1999 (Circulation desk)

NAS Microform Series

The NAS Collection includes a number of archival materials in microform. Some of the titles below are available, as well, in hard copy. See the catalog records linked to these titles for further information about available formats (including electronic) and for copies in other campus libraries. Where the NAS copy has not been cataloged, this Guide links to catalog records describing holdings belonging either to other libraries on the UCB campus or to other libraries in the UC system (all cataloged in UC Library Search).

Akwesasne Notes (1970-1985).
"Official publication of the Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne (People of the Longhouse) and contains (from time to time) Longhouse news, the official publication of the Mohawk Nation at Kanawake."
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP-12 & NAS FILM/NAIP 1973-1 (Series 1 & Series 7: North American Indian Periodicals, Package 1)

American Indian Quarterly (1984-1992).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 2

John Collier, John Collier Papers, 1922-1968.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 4

• For access to the papers, see The John Collier Papers, 1922-1968: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition (Andrew M. Patterson & Maureen Brodoff eds., 1980).
• Location: NAS E93.C7.A12.P3 (Reference)

Indian Rights Association, Indian Rights Association Papers [1883-1901] (1972).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 6

• For access to the papers, see Indian Rights Association, Indian Rights Association Papers: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition, 1864-1973.
• Location: NAS E93.I414 1975 (Reference)

John W. Larner, Charles E. Gillette & Hazel W. Hertzberg, The Papers of the Society of American Indians (1906-1946).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 9

• For access to the papers, see Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm Edition of the Papers of the Society of American Indians (John W. Larner, Jr., ed. [1987]).
• Location: NAS AI1.L3

Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation, Indian Notes and Monographs (1919-1960).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 16

Papers of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 5

Periodicals by and about the North American Indian, 1923-1981.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 7

Presbyterian Historical Society, American Indian Correspondence: The Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 3

Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Publications (1887-1973).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 8

• For access to the periodicals reproduced in this series (Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology, 1965-1972, Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin, 1887-1971, Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports, 1879-1933), see Indian Rights Association, Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Publications: Available on 35mm Microfilm from Microfilming Corporation of America.
• Location: NAS E51.S658 1980z (Reference)

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior (1824-1949).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 14

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Correspondence of the Office of Indian Affairs (Central Office) and Related Records, February 1, 1846—June 30, 1859 (Rolls 32—52).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 10

• "These are registers for the records filmed as microfilm publication M234. Each letter includes the name of the writer; the date the letter was written; the date it was received, beginning in April 1834; the place where it was written; a summary of its contents; the jurisdiction or other heading under which the letter was filed; and beginning in July 1838, the file number assigned to each letter upon its receipt." (National Archives and Records Administration, American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (Part 2).)

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties with Various Tribes of Indians, 1801-1869.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 11

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 12

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Indians at Work (August 1, 1933—May/June 1945).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 12

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-81. California Superintendency, 1849-1880. (Rolls 32—52.)
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 11

• "This series contains incoming correspondence from all sources concerning Indian lands, emigration, treaty negotiations, subsistence, annuity payments, conflicts, depredations, claims, traders and licenses, population, education, progress in agriculture, health, employees, buildings, supplies, accounts, other administrative matters, and many other subjects relating to Indians and to the operations of the bureau. The letters are arranged alphabetically by name of field jurisdiction (superintendency or agency) or other subject heading, thereunder by year, and thereunder in registry order (alphabetically by initial letter of surname or other designation of writer and thereunder chronologically by date of receipt). Letters relating to an agency for all or part of its existence may be filed under the agency's own name or under the name of the superintendency to which it was or had been responsible. The registers for these records have been filmed as microfilm publication M18." (National Archives and Records Administration, American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (Part 2).)

United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-81. Nevada Superintendency, 1861-1880. (Rolls 61—80.)
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 11

• "This series contains incoming correspondence from all sources concerning Indian lands, emigration, treaty negotiations, subsistence, annuity payments, conflicts, depredations, claims, traders and licenses, population, education, progress in agriculture, health, employees, buildings, supplies, accounts, other administrative matters, and many other subjects relating to Indians and to the operations of the bureau. The letters are arranged alphabetically by name of field jurisdiction (superintendency or agency) or other subject heading, thereunder by year, and thereunder in registry order (alphabetically by initial letter of surname or other designation of writer and thereunder chronologically by date of receipt). Letters relating to an agency for all or part of its existence may be filed under the agency's own name or under the name of the superintendency to which it was or had been responsible. The registers for these records have been filmed as microfilm publication M18." (National Archives and Records Administration, American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (Part 2).)

United States. Congress. Committee on Indian Affairs. (House and Senate). Hearings and reports: [1867-1946].
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 13

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs. Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States (1929-1944).
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 15

• For access to the parts of the survey, see A Guide to Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States, Reports of the commissioner to the five civilized tribes, Survey of Indian reservations.
• Location: News/Micro E93.G84

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Descriptive Commentaries from the Medical Histories of Posts.
Location: NAS FILM/NAIP Series 11