The California LegInfo website has a California Constitution page, which allows you to view the current version of the California Constitution and expand specific articles or conduct text searches.
California Secretary of State
The California Secretary of State and the State Archives have Records of the Constitutional Convention of 1849 and the 1878-1879 Constitutional Convention Working Papers.
The state legislature's California Legislative Information website allows you to search for bills and statutes, including advanced search options with parameters such as date range, author, etc. Earlier legislative information can be found on the California Legislative Information - Bills 1993 to 2016.
FindLaw contains a freely accessible database of California laws, with statute summaries and citations/links to relevant sections of California's statutes.
The California Office of Administrative Law website provides information about the state agency regulations. Users can access the California Code of Regulations and Regulatory Notice Register from here.
The state-run Agency Directory website contains links and contact information for all 230+ California agencies.
The Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) website has a California State Agency Databases research guide that contains links to California administrative materials and an annotated list of California state agency databases, grouped by subject.
The state-run California Agency Reports website allows you to search for agency reports by keyword, agency, authority type, recipient, or due date.
There are numerous online sources for free U.S. case law. Note that many of the finding aids and editorial enhancements that you may be accustomed to on Lexis and Westlaw are not available through these free resources. Also, paid databases have citators, which enable users to check whether a case has been overruled or negatively impacted by later cases. Reliable and free online citators are not yet available.
The official California Courts website contains an Opinions page that includes published and unpublished opinions from the California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
SCOCAL, a joint project between Justia and the Stanford Law School Library, provides California Supreme Court opinions with annotations written by Stanford law students. The website also includes briefs, docket information, and links to media coverage of the cases.
FindLaw contains a freely accessible database of California case law.
The Free Law Project's Court Listener provides access to California case law. Users may search for opinions on the landing page or by selecting jurisdictions on the Advanced Search page.
The Caselaw Access Project, a project of Harvard's Library Innovation Lab, is making all U.S. case law freely available online. You can run keyword or advanced searches, or browse individual volumes. The Caselaw Access Project's collection is available via an API and bulk download, which can be very useful for research involving large case law datasets.
Google Scholar provides access to California case law, allowing users to search either through a free text field or an Advanced Search option. Click on the "case law" radio button and enter your search terms. To pull up advanced search features, click on the menu button at the top left-hand side of the screen; use the facets on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your results. The Library of Congress has a short tutorial on using Google Scholar for case searches.
Justia has a collection of California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals opinions on its California Case Law page.
The California Governor's website provides links to executive orders and proclamations by the current governor.
The Internet Archive's Wayback Machine provides links to: