Dockets, Briefs & Oral Argument: ... Bloomberg Law Example Briefs, Coverage

The Dockets Advanced Search template also has a "Find Example Briefs & Motions" tab; it covers civil cases in federal district courts from 2010 to present and does not include pleadings, orders, transcripts, or other docketed items. Not all briefs and motion papers are classified/tagged by Bloomberg's Docket Key service, so your results may not include every motion or brief that is in or could be retrieved by Bloomberg Law.

• Search criteria include procedural/topical tags assigned by Bloomberg Law, outcome of the motion (granted, denied, or granted/denied in part), by "Motion Filer Lawfirm" name (including an option for "Large Law Firm Only").
• You can focus your search on a specific judge, a federal district, or group of courts.
• Because "Certain dockets may not have all briefs & motions classified" under the Docket Key system, this feature is best used (as labeled) for finding model or example briefs and papers, rather than for finding a specific brief in a specific matter or for determining how many motions of a particular type are filed in a given jurisdiction and time period.

Coverage details

In the Litigation pulldown menu, select "Docket Coverage" to see coverage of federal and state courts' dockets, including dates of docket sheet availability and whether any underlying documents are available ("# of Free Pleadings").

Foreign and international dockets

In the Filters section of the Dockets Coverage page, choose "International" (selected and archived coverage of the Cayman Islands, Dubai, European Union, and the United Kingdom). 

Bloomberg Law dockets coverage (screenshot)

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles