International Business Transactions: Foreign Law

Foreign Law Guide (UCB only)
Look up by jurisdiction; obtain information about the legal system, laws by subject:

• antitrust
• business associations
• foreign investments
• franchising & licensing
• intellectual property
• securities
• taxation
• more ...

International Encyclopaedia of Laws (UCB only)
Arranged by topic:

• civil procedure
• commercial & economic law
• constitutional law
• contracts
• corporations & partnerships
• intellectual property
• property & trust law
• more ...

Doing Business (World Bank)
Reports on business regulations and enforcement.  See also the Law Library for a collection of laws (some English translations).

WorldLII
Free access to laws around the world -- either links or collections of laws. See also the Free Access to Law Movement for more collections by jurisdiction and region. Includes AsianLII, CANLII, BAILII, etc.

Constitutions
There are several good sources for national constitutions and related laws.

• Comparative Constitutions Project
• Oxford Constitutions of the World (UCB only)
• World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) (UCB only)

These and other databases are available from the database list on the library’s website.

• Beck-Online (UCB only)
  German law database (in German only).
• ChinaLawInfo (UCB only)
  Access to English language translations of laws, regulations, and cases from the People's Republic of China. Other legal news and information from China is available. The site is also available in Chinese.
• DeJure (UCB only)
  Italian law database (in Italian only).
• SCC Online
  Law of India.
• vLexJustis (UCB only)
  Access to primary materials (laws and cases) as well as secondary materials (articles and forms) for 95 countries).
• Lexis China
  Bilingual database for Chinese law of the mainland and Hong Kong SAR.

This is not a comprehensive list of national law databases, see Foreign Law Guide or a research guide for links to other sources/

• AfricanLII
• Regional and national African law and African Union law database.  
• AsianLII
  Taiwan, China, South Korea, more Asian countries.
• AUSTLII
  Australia.
• Austrian Laws in English
• BAILII
  British and Irish law.
• CANLII
  Canada.
• Eur-Lex
  EU law.
• Gesetze im Internet
  German law, some translations.
• Japanese Law Translation
• LegiFrance
  French law, some translations.
• N-Lex: A Common Gateway to National Law
  Access to national databases for EU Member States.
• Singapore Statutes Online

There are a number of sources that discuss business transactions in other countries and outline the specific laws.  The sources noted below are aimed at getting you started but there are many more available.

Search LawCat for books on doing beginning with the following titles:

• Doing business in (some of these titles are available Lexis Advance)
• Business laws of (some of these titles are available on WestlawNext)
• Legal Aspects of Doing Business in ....

Search LawCat

Legal aspects of doing business

Some of these titles are available on Lexis.

Here are other titles to consider:

• Business Operations in…
  Provides information on commercial and tax law; including various forms for doing business in the specific country.  Scroll down the page to "Country Portfolios."
• China Laws for Foreign Business
• Danish Business Law (2012).
• Doing Business in (Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain -- all available on LexisAdvance).
• European Business Law (2015).
• French Competition Law (2015).
• Introduction to Business Law in Russia (2011).
• Korean Business Law (2012).
• A Legal Guide to Doing Business in South America (2011).

Basic books about a country's legal system may also be useful.

• German Legal System and Laws (2010).
• The Israeli Legal System (2013).
• The Mexican Legal System: A Comprehensive Research Guide (2013).
• A First Look at the Malaysian Legal System (2009).

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles