High profile cases - In high-profile cases or impact litigation cases that may be of wide interest, attorneys or other interested parties may post selected materials from the docket files on the open web. Other than general search engine searches using the party names, document title (e.g., "memorandum of points and authorities in support of defendants' motion for summary judgment"), and/or docket number, consider the following specific resources:

• If a public interest organization that is involved with case (including organizations involved in amicus briefs) has submitted a filing or is following the case, try the organization's site - e.g.,
  • ACLU homepage > Issues>(Choose Issue)>Court Cases - complaints, motions, amicus briefs, etc. for significant cases
• If the case is currently pending (or very recent) AND is a high profile matter, the court itself may make some documents from the docket available online, free of charge - e.g.(some recent examples), 
  • United States District Court, Northern District of California - This court's home page has a "Cases of Interest" section that lists links to high profile case pages.

Started in 2009, RECAP is an online archive and free extension for Firefox and Chrome that improves the experience of using PACER, the electronic public access system for U.S. Federal Courts. If you use PACER, install RECAP. Once installed, every docket or PDF you purchase on PACER will be added to the RECAP Archive. Anything somebody else has added to the archive will be available to you for free -- right in PACER itself. Tens of thousands of people have used RECAP. To join them, simply install one of the free extensions, and then use PACER as you normally would. RECAP support for U.S. Circuit Court docket filings is currently a work in progress.

Cases in the Supreme Court of California - A joint project by the Stanford Law School Library and Justia hosts a publicly accessible, free online database of selected documents, including some documents that may not be freely available via the Court's website, called SCOCAL.

• Start by entering basic search terms in the "Search Cases" box (at the upper right side of the screen) on the home page, and then narrow down the search once the initial results appear, by clicking on "advanced search."
• You can use the basic search box to search by party names or docket number (e.g., S190581).
• The search will include both the text of the cases as well as the briefs that have been added to the database.
• When viewing the record of a particular case, click on the Docket tab to see the docket sheet, and on the Briefs tab to see any documents filed by the parties that are available from this database.

California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal Briefs - The LA Law Library maintains one of the most comprehensive collections of California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals briefs, dating back to the establishment of the state. The collection is being digitized for online access.  Use this link to find if a brief has been scanned.

... by keywordauthortitlesubjectcall number go