Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley School of Law Library UC Berkeley School of Law Library BerkeleyLaw Library

Local Government Legal Resources: Other Resources

Sources of information pertaining to municipal or county legal research, with a special emphasis on California local government.

Other Resources

NOTE: For some of the resources described below, membership may be required to access the full benefits of the organization.

The Governor's Office of Planning and Research (OPR) publishes basic information on California local planning agencies, including an annual survey that identifies recent planning activities, accomplishments, and trends.

California Local Planning Documents Database (IGS)  - All of California's 500+ cities and counties issue planning documents. The state of California requires local jurisdictions to produce them and to update them periodically. The documents take various forms. They can be issued as consolidated general plans or as separate elements (e.g., land use, open space, housing, conservation, noise, seismic safety, transportation, etc.). The California Local Planning Documents Database includes links to online full-text versions of plans, when available. Searches can be limited to online full-text.

California Local Government Website (IGS)  - The IGS Library collects and preserves born-digital publications from local governments within California. These collections include: local ordinance codes and charters issued by California cities and counties, county financial documents, including budgets and annual financial reports, annual reports from county grand juries, documents related to land use and development issues, and budgets and financial reports for Bay Area jurisdictions

California State Association of Counties  - News for county governments, plus information on each of California's 58 counties.

California State Controller's Database of Local Government Salaries and Compensation - This database contains information on the salary and other compensation of public employee positions in cities, counties, and special districts.

International Municipal Lawyers Association  - The International Municipal Lawyers Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the interests and education of local government lawyers.

League of California Cities  - An association of California city officials with an extensive website of local government information.

Library of Congress State and Local Government on the Internet - An evolving list linking to various local government resources available on the Internet.

National Association of Counties  - The National Association of Counties is the only national organization that represents county governments before the Administration and Congress.

National Association of Regional Councils - The National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) serves as the national voice for regionalism. NARC advocates for and provides services to its member councils of government and metropolitan planning organizations.

National League of Cities  - The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities.  Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, NLC serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.  More than 1,600 municipalities of all sizes pay dues directly to NLC and actively participate as leaders and voting members in the organization.

State and County Quick Facts  - U.S. Census Bureau source of comparative information on local government. Includes a subject guide.

State of the Cities Data Systems  - Sponsored by HUD, this gives access to specific cities' historical census data, current employment statistics, and county business pattern databases. The dataset allows searching for criminal, business and housing data sets as well.

United States Conference of Mayors  - The U.S. Conference of Mayors  is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more.

Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations - State & Local Government Blog (SLoG) describes this defunct Commission as "an independent agency within the federal government to study and make recommendations on emerging intergovernmental issues" among all levels of government.

State & Local Government Blog (SLoG) - Its vision is to "foster ongoing dialogue and analysis of a range of state and local issues. We hope these conversations will bring in not only legal scholars, but also those serving in state and local government, advocates working on a range of issues, and scholars from other disciplines. We hope our readers will be those in the academy, and also those who cover the statehouse or city hall beat."

Search LawCat

... by

Ask Us

Library Hours