LibGuides: Source Collection 1-2-3: (1) Books, Chapters, Reports, etc.

Low-hanging fruit

A couple of "first stops" for secondary sources (books, articles), especially if you do not need page-image (PDF) versions:

law and related fields - search law library Books + Articles (search for book title or article title/headline as an exact phrase with quotation marks)
non-law including some news/magazine sources - UC Library Search (UCLS) for non-law books + articles (on Advanced Search page, search the title field as "contains exact phrase")
Google Books (and Amazon.com), and Google Scholar for articles, are useful to verify publication details, but (1) don't pay for access to full text, and (2) these are only acceptable for source collection if linked to a stable, paywall-free, full-text version (e.g., a Google Scholar result leading to Hein Online full-text, accessible via CalNet login).

Find books, book chapters, reports, other non-periodical materials

The timetable (see bottom of this tab for a Timetable chart) for obtaining some materials may be up to 2 weeks, depending on format and location. So check for books first and determine which have to be obtained in print (possibly from off-campus), as follows—

Search catalogs in the following order:

Berkeley Law Library Catalog (aka LawCat)
UC Library Search (UCLS) for UCB + UC system - default search scope for Articles, books, and more includes UCB campus libraries (see locations list) and UC system libraries whose collections are available via interlibrary loan
WorldCat on UCLS - if not found at UCB or another UC campus, select the WorldCat radio button on the UCLS Advanced Search and re-do the search (if not found using WorldCat on UCLS, check WorldCat via FirstSearch (ask a Reference Librarian for assistance in locating exact item/edition and likely interlibrary loan sources)

Confirm any e-books/"available online" materials:

check with your editor or journal policy on whether an e-book version of that source is acceptable
confirm the catalog record links to the correct full text (esp. that edition/year matches the citation and page numbering or pincite information appears in the e-book); if there are any discrepancies, you may have to locate an alternate or print version
e-books are not available via interlibrary loan! so make sure UCB affiliates have access

Collect:

to gather print materials or have them delivered ... when, where, and how to do this depends on the details, so see the Timetable chart below for materials in the Law Library (Berkeley Law Library Catalog), at UCB or UC system libraries (UCLS), or other institutions (WorldCat)
check out Law Library materials to the journal's account if it has one; otherwise, you must use your individual account (your Cal ID card) and track that the materials are renewed and then returned after the editing process is complete
check out items found via UCLS and WorldCat on UCLS using your individual account (your Cal ID card), and keep track that the materials are renewed and returned after editing is complete

Search at the Law Library

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles

Ask Us

Library Hours

Timetable for how & when to collect books etc.

Log in to both catalogs

Click the link at the upper right corner to LOGIN on LawCat and SIGN IN on UCLS so that you can see and use the request functions needed to complete these steps. Both use CalNet authentication.

found in ...	DO THIS 1-2 wks before deadline	DO THIS 1-3 days before deadline	DO THIS by your deadline
Berkeley Law Library Catalog	if "On loan from Stacks, due ___" click "Request" button and select "Recall" (current user is asked to return the item) pick up at Circ Desk when notified (if no email within a week, consult a Reference Librarian for options)	if "Available at Room ___ (request to retrieve)" click on "request to retrieve" link pick up at Law Library Circulation Desk paging may take 1-3 days, depending on when you submit the request - details under "Items Located in On-Site Storage" (scroll down) if "Available at Reserve Collection or Reference]" these are non-circulating, so plan time to scan any needed pages scan title page plus a 3- to 5-page radius around any specific pages that are cited	if "Available at Stacks" pick up from LL2 (try the Mapit link for help locating the shelf on LL2) check out at Law Library Circulation Desk* if "Available online" copy the proxy-enabled "available online" link in LawCat (after confirming works) and paste in your source collection list
UCLS (at UCB or other UC system libraries)	if "Out of library , [UCB UCB campus library]" under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business pick up at selected location when notified note recall can take 1-2 weeks or more - may be faster to use ILL if available at other UCs (below) if "Available in institution" at other UC campus(es) under "Get It," click "Request through Interlibrary Loan" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business pick up at selected location when notified (see libraries map) - usually faster than recall (above)	if "Available at Northern Regional Library Facility" under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearby libraries are Environmental Design and Business OR if you only need a chapter/short page range, click "Request NRLF Article/Chapter Scan" (indicate chapter or page range, to include title page plus a 3- to 5-page radius around any specific pages that are cited) Paging (optional): if "Available at [UCB campus library]" under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business pick up at selected location when notified (see libraries map)	if "Available at [UCB campus library other than NRLF]" go to campus library (see libraries map) and locate item in self-service stacks check out at that library's circulation desk, using your Cal ID
WorldCat on UCLS (at non-UC libraries on WorldCat) OR WorldCat on FirstSearch (ask a Reference Librarian for assistance)	if not available at UCB or other UCs (above), but found via WorldCat on UCLS - under "Get It," click "Request through Interlibrary Loan" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business pick up at selected location (see campus libraries map) when notified Note - interlibrary borrowing can take longer than two weeks if found via WorldCat on FirstSearch - fill out the "ILL REQUEST" blank form using the OCLC Number for the exact item/edition needed

found in ...

DO THIS 1-2 wks before deadline

DO THIS 1-3 days before deadline

DO THIS by your deadline

Berkeley Law Library Catalog

if "On loan from Stacks, due ___"

click "Request" button and select "Recall" (current user is asked to return the item)
pick up at Circ Desk when notified (if no email within a week, consult a Reference Librarian for options)

if "Available at Room ___ (request to retrieve)"

click on "request to retrieve" link
pick up at Law Library Circulation Desk
paging may take 1-3 days, depending on when you submit the request - details under "Items Located in On-Site Storage" (scroll down)

if "Available at Reserve Collection or Reference]"

these are non-circulating, so plan time to scan any needed pages
scan title page plus a 3- to 5-page radius around any specific pages that are cited

if "Available at Stacks"

pick up from LL2 (try the Mapit link for help locating the shelf on LL2)
check out at Law Library Circulation Desk*

if "Available online"

copy the proxy-enabled "available online" link in LawCat (after confirming works) and paste in your source collection list

UCLS (at UCB or other UC system libraries)

if "Out of library , [UCB UCB campus library]"

under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business
pick up at selected location when notified
note recall can take 1-2 weeks or more - may be faster to use ILL if available at other UCs (below)

if "Available in institution" at other UC campus(es)

under "Get It," click "Request through Interlibrary Loan" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business
pick up at selected location when notified (see libraries map) - usually faster than recall (above)

if "Available at Northern Regional Library Facility"

under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearby libraries are Environmental Design and Business
OR if you only need a chapter/short page range, click "Request NRLF Article/Chapter Scan" (indicate chapter or page range, to include title page plus a 3- to 5-page radius around any specific pages that are cited)

Paging (optional): if "Available at [UCB campus library]"

under "Get It," click "Request from UC Berkeley" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business
pick up at selected location when notified (see libraries map)

if "Available at [UCB campus library other than NRLF]"

go to campus library (see libraries map) and locate item in self-service stacks
check out at that library's circulation desk, using your Cal ID

WorldCat on UCLS (at non-UC libraries on WorldCat)

OR WorldCat on FirstSearch (ask a Reference Librarian for assistance)

if not available at UCB or other UCs (above), but found via WorldCat on UCLS -

under "Get It," click "Request through Interlibrary Loan" and select a Pickup Location - nearest libraries are Environmental Design and Business
pick up at selected location (see campus libraries map) when notified
Note - interlibrary borrowing can take longer than two weeks

if found via WorldCat on FirstSearch -

fill out the "ILL REQUEST" blank form using the OCLC Number for the exact item/edition needed

* You may also need to check reshelving carts and the shelving reserved by your journal. (Staff at the Circulation or Reference Desk can help.)

Source Collection 1-2-3: (1) Books, Chapters, Reports, etc.