LibGuides: Source Collection 1-2-3: (2) Journals & Articles

Low-hanging fruit

A couple of "first stops" for secondary sources (books, articles), especially if you do not need page-image (PDF) versions:

law and related fields - search law library Books + Articles (search for book title or article title/headline as an exact phrase with quotation marks)
non-law including some news/magazine sources - UC Library Search (UCLS) for non-law books + articles (on Advanced Search page, search the title field as "contains exact phrase")
Google Books (and Amazon.com), and Google Scholar for articles, are useful to verify publication details, but (1) don't pay for access to full text, and (2) these are only acceptable for source collection if linked to a stable, paywall-free, full-text version (e.g., a Google Scholar result leading to Hein Online full-text, accessible via CalNet login).

Need other formats, or not finding it yet, or hitting a paywall?

If the law library's Book + Articles, UCLS, and Google Scholar (see "Low-hanging fruit" tips, above) are not locating the article you need, or if they don't provide full text or a PDF (if your journal requires that format), see the further tips (sub-tabs of this page of the guide) for finding articles:

... from Non-Law Periodicals - including general-interest newspapers and magazines
... from Law Journals - as well as legal news and magazine publications

Source Collection 1-2-3: (2) Journals & Articles

Low-hanging fruit

Need other formats, or not finding it yet, or hitting a paywall?

Search at the Law Library

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles

Ask Us

Library Hours

Fall 2024