Skip to Main Content
Berkeley Law Library logo

Newspapers: Historical News

Historical newspaper databases

The main campus Library provides access to thousands of news sources. Some examples of newspaper archives with substantial historical coverage (with full-text, page-image, and/or indexing-only):

Proquest Historical Newspapers (All Historical Newspapers) 
 
Full-runs and full-images that include front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types. Full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to 19th and 18th centuries. Includes sub-collections, for example:
  • ProQuest Major Daily Newspapers (Historic & Current) - New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).
  • Western Regional Historical Newspapers - The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
  • African American Historical Newspapers (Proquest) - search across a range of newspapers significant to African American history, including: Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2010), The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 2010), Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2010), Louisville Defender (1951 - 2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916 - 2010), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2010), (Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2010).
  • Jewish Historical Newspapers - The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922), The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000), The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990), The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990).
Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) & Series 2 (1758-1900)
More than one million pages in fully text-searchable facsimile images, 1690 to 1900.
African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998)
Over 280 historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states, including several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica
 
Collection of historical Spanish-language newspapers. (Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers) [1777 - 1960s], most  from Spain but also includes some from Mexico and other parts Latin America. Interface available in English and Spanish.
Historical Newspapers Online

Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) 1790-1980.

These are just examples ...

The library boasts over 100 historical news database collections. See "Discover more historical newspapes" (below) for tips.

Discover more historical newspapers

Both the main campus Library's A-Z Databases list and its catalog can help you find news sources by publication title, geographic area, language, and other attributes.

Browse database descriptions in the A-Z Databases list

Some specific titles are mentioned in the database descriptions, but mostly you can use this list to identify large collections of historical or other categories of newspaper sources

Look for specific publications on UC Library Search

  • from basic search bar at main Library's website, enter newspaper title and/or place name (e.g. Fresno Bee) and select Journals
  • on the Journal Search page, search by publication title or ISSN, or view list by selecting Journals by Category: General: Newspapers
  • holdings may reflect online/database, microform, print, and/or indexing access

UC Library Search for journals (basic) - sample search 

Law Library Catalog

Ask Us

Library Hours

Summer 2024

Monday-Friday: 8am-6pm

Saturday: 10am-6pm

Sunday: CLOSED

more hours…