International Arbitration & Litigation: Additional Secondary Authority

One of the best ways to locate articles is to use legal journal indexes. The best of the indexes include:

• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (UCB only)
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (UCB only)
• Legal Resource Index (also known as Legaltrac) (UCB only)
• Legal Journals Index (Westlaw Edge only)

You can also search full-text collections on Lexis, Westlaw, KluwerArbitration, and Arbitration Law. 
Research tip: Keep in mind that none of these resources are comprehensive on their own.

Journal articles can help with the analysis of cases, rules, conventions and national laws.  For example, if you are interested in the new Argentine arbitration law, you might be interested in this article: The New Argentinian Arbitration Law: A Train in an Unknown Direction, 32 Arbitration International 349-372 (2016).  Articles also provide practical guidance on the conduct of international arbitration, including how to select arbitrators or the use of evidence.

There are many books on various aspects of arbitration, such as practice and procedure, materials that focus on arbitration in a specific region, or books on specialized topics such as arbitration clauses for international contracts.  To locate these books, type the title into the title field in LawCat.

Specialized databases containing books and other sources for commentary and analysis (UCB or Berkeley Law only).  All of these are available from the Databases list on the library's website.

Research tip: If you use a search engine to locate information and you hit a paywall, check the databases list since we may subscribe to the specific database you need.

• Arbitration Law
• Encyclopedia of Private International Law (several chapters on arbitration)
• Global Arbitration Review (GAR)
• ICC Dispute Resolution Library
• Investment Claims
• KluwerArbitration
• Oxford's International Commercial Arbitration
• Oxford Private International Law
• PLI Plus (Practising Law Institute) 
• Westlaw, Secondary Sources > Texts & Treatises > Alternative Dispute Resolution (check-off box on left side under "Topic")

Selected Specific Titles:

• Klaus Peter Berger, Private Dispute Resolution in International Business: Negotiation, Mediation, Arbitration (2015).
• Nigel Blackaby et al., Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration (6th ed. 2015).
• Gary Born, International Commercial Arbitration (3d ed. 2020).
• Gary Born, International Arbitration: Law and Practice (3d ed. 2021).
• Gary Born, International Arbitration and Forum Selection Agreements: Drafting and Enforcing (5th ed. 2016).
• Michael Bühler & Thomas H Webster, Handbook of ICC Arbitration: Commentary and Materials (4th ed. 2018). Also available on Westlaw.
• Thomas E. Carbonneau, Arbitration Law in a Nutshell (4th ed. 2017).
• Thomas E. Carbonneau, The Law and Practice of Arbitration (5th ed. 2014).
• David Caron & Lee Caplan, The UNICTRAL Rules: A Commentary (2nd ed., 2013).
• Domke on Commercial Arbitration.  Available on WestlawNext.
• International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration (Jan Paulsson ed., 1984-).
• Institutional Arbitration: Article-by-Article Commentary (Rolf A. Schütze ed., 2013).
• Robert H. Smit, Comparison of International Arbitration Rules (4th ed., 2013).
• Herbert Kronke, Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Award: A Global Commentary on the New York Convention (2010).
• Christoph H. Schreuer, The ICSID Convention: A Commentary on the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (2009).  
• Ingeborg Schwenzer, Commentary on the UN Convention on the International Sale of Goods (CISG) (4th ed. 2016).
• Thomas Webster, Handbook of UNCITRAL Arbitration: Commentary, Precedents & Materials (2d ed., 2015).

Working papers, recently published articles, and preprints (articles accepted for publication but not yet published) are good sources for new topics -- those not covered well in journal articles or books.

• Legal Scholarship Network (LSN, part of SSRN)

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles