International Arbitration & Litigation: Litigation

These are a few of the keywords that can be used to look for more resources, like journal articles.  

• international civil procedure
• commercial litigation
• cross-border litigation
• enforcement of foreign judgments
• international litigation
• jurisdiction
• private international law
• foreign judgments
• service of process
• transnational litigation

These websites provide access to many of the treaties and conventions used in international litigation.

• Hague Conference on Private International Law, Conventions, Protocols and Principles
• OAS, Private International Law
• UN Treaty Collection
• US State Dept., Private International Law
  See Dispute Settlement, Judicial Assistance and Commercial Law

You may need the law and procedure for specific jurisdictions.  These tools will point you to how to locate applicable law and other resources. Some of the secondary sources noted in the box to the right cover the law and process of various jurisdictions.

• Foreign Law Guide (UCB only)
• Globalex

These resources provide commentary and analysis and may also cite to relevant laws.  Some of these titles are available in print, electronic, or both.

• Conflict of Laws (2018).
• Encyclopaedia of International Commercial Litigation (1991-).
  Covers many jurisdictions.  Each section gives a general account of the structure of the courts and their jurisdictions, civil litigation procedures in each country concerned, the local legal profession, local specialist areas and charges, and the local judiciary.
• Encyclopedia of Private International Law. (UCB Only).
• Enforcement of Foreign Judgments (1994-).
  Categories of enforceable judgment - Documentary requirements - Methods of execution - Translation of documents - Pending proceedings - And service requirements.
• Federal Judicial Center, International Litigation Guides.
• Fundamentals of Transnational Litigation (2014).
• Getting the Deal Through.
  Available on Bloomberg Law. Covers a variety of topics (like enforcement of foreign judgments) for many jurisdictions.
• Global Issues in Civil Procedure (2021).
• International Aspects of U.S. Litigation: A Practitioner’s Deskbook (2017).
• International Civil Procedure (2011-).
  Covers many jurisdictions.
• International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Civil Procedure. (UCB Only).
• International Litigation: Strategies and Practice (2014).
• The Practice of International Litigation (1998-).
• Practical Handbook on the Operation of the Service Convention (4^th ed., 2016).
• Transnational Litigation: A Practitioner’s Guide.
  Available on Westlaw.
• Transnational Litigation in a Nutshell (2021).

Research tip: Search the library catalog for books about discovery, civil procedure, damages, class actions, etc. 

One of the best ways to locate articles is to use legal journal indexes. The best of the indexes include:

• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (UCB only)
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (UCB only)
• Legal Resource Index (also known as Legaltrac) (UCB only)
• Legal Journals Index (WestLaw Next only)

You can also search full-text collections on Lexis Advance, Westlaw, and HeinOnline.  Keep in mind that none of these resources are comprehensive on their own.

Law Library Catalog:

Books + Articles