On June 28, 2018, Governor Jerry Brown signed the California Consumer Privacy Act into law. Together with its amendment (Chapter 735), signed September 23, 2018, it is one of the most far reaching privacy measures ever enacted in this country.
Previously enacted California legislation is briefly described at "California Consumer Laws" section of the FindLaw website.
The Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency (BCSH) assists and educates consumers regarding the licensing, regulation, and enforcement of professionals and businesses in California. The departments, boards and commissions under the BCSH include the California Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA), the Department of Fair Employment and Housing, the California Housing Finance Agency and the Department of Real Estate.
The Department of Consumer Affairs licenses and regulates a broad range of professionals in California from architects, accountants, dentists to veterinarians. As DCA explains on their website, enforcement of consumer laws is also one of their primary responsibilities. "DCA’s enforcement staff works with the Office of the Attorney General and local district attorneys to fight fraud in the marketplace."
In addition to providing a linked list of California state consumer protection agencies,The USA.gov website also provides a linked list of California county agencies. Also note - USA.gov provides this information for all fifty states.
Bus. and Prof.C. §17200 Practice (The Rutter Group Civil Litigation Series). Practice Guide for litigating cases under California's unfair competition and false advertising laws. Covers a range of topics including California Unfair Business Practices Act, false advertising laws, class actions and Consumer's Legal Remedies Act. Available in Reserves and on Westlaw.
California Judges Benchbook. Small Claims Court and Consumer Law. Written from a judges perspective. Covers litigating a small claims case, consumer protection laws and landlord-tenant issues among other topics. Available in Reserves.
Matthew Bender Practice Guide. California Debt Collection and Enforcement of Judgments. Discusses all aspects of debt collection procedure and litigation from start to finish in California. Covers how to enforce a judgment, locating assets as well as preserving assets. Available on Lexis.
Debt Collection Practice in California (California Continuing Education of the Bar). Covers collecting debts in California as well effective defense strategies. Available in Reserves and electronically on CEB's OnLAW database.
... by
